top of page

For the Gear heads...

Ok I admit it. I'm a bit of a nerd when it comes to what gear we use. Some stuff I will use; some I definitely won't, and I'm always after that exact sound in my head. So if you're a similar gear obsessed musician - here's what we use....

2015 Lowden F23 with an LR Baggs anthem... Cedar and walnut...I've wanted a Lowden since I first tried one aged 18. Nothing else sounds like them - just a massive, warm, articulate and detailed tone. I've played new ones, old ones, battered ones and broken ones - and they've all sounded awesome. My Lowden sounds great now, and it'll only get better! I normally have this in alternate tuning. www.lowdenguitars.com

2005 Brook Taw custom with an old Fishman Matrix... Spruce and Rosewood...Brook guitars are made by hand in Devon, and mine has a super slim neck so it feels fast to play. When I bought mine I'd been playing everything I could get my hands on - Martin, Santa Cruz, Taylor, Gibson - and it just sounded better than anything I'd played. It sounds a bit more snappy than the Lowden on account of the spruce top, and sits well in any mix. www.brookguitars.com

In the studio we also used Ant's 1990s Lowden O23c... which has a bit of history having featured in Cranberries videos in the 1990s... which has an unbelievable big sound. There are a few electrics knocking about as well which we don't tend to use with Bright Lights, but for Miracle Contained we used my old hardtail Strat into a THD Univalve / Orange 2x12 / Tube Screamer to track the electric parts.

Going back to the acoustics, then run through an Akai Headrush for delay, a Strymon BlueSky for reverb / pads effects, and a Boss RC3 for loops. They then go into a Radial Tonebone PZ-Pre to get both guitars sounding right, tweak the volumes, and add a boost if required. This all runs to AER amps for backline.

In terms of the Bass, Ant uses a 5 string Musician Stingray into a Mark Bass combo, and Merry uses various shaky eggs / sticks to bring a groove.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page